I walk to the meadow And stare at the flowers Better dressed than any girl On her wedding day So why should I worry? Why do I freak out? God knows what I need You know what I need!

Hi hey hello,

With my annual school trip coming up, our Winter Expedition, I really want to dig into the Word and prepare myself for the amazing things He is going to do on this trip. He works in astounding ways every year and I expect Him to this year, expect Him to work, leave space for Him to work, and praise Him, whatever He does, because He is really the one in charge, He is the big man in charge, He knows ultimately what is best.

In my preparations, I was reading Luke 12:34, which says “Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” This got me thinking. Treasure in the Greek in the place in which good and precious things are collected and laid up. So, where you put all your precious things, the things you prize most, your time, your money, your energy. The things you have put the most of that into, that is where your heart really is.

In Luke 12:15 it says “And he said to them ‘Take care, and be on your guard against all covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions.'” So, the things on earth, your stuff, is of no value whatsoever in Heaven, that is not to say that we, as Christians, cannot have stuff, it simply means that all our time, energy, money, and effort should not be in our stuff. That stuff isn’t going to come with us to Heaven, it is going to stay here on earth and rot away. All those clothes, that Macbook, that iPhone, all those things are not going to come with us to Heaven. It doesn’t really matter in the long run, because it will fade away.

So, we can either put our treasures in things that are going to fade away and rot, or we can put our treasures in something that truly matters, that is eternal. If we invest our time, money, energy, and effort in God and delving deep into His Word, then we are truly investing our lives in the eternal. I want to invest my life in something that is going to go on forever, I want my life to mean something in the long run, I can either waste it away collecting up all the possessions I can get, or I can spend it worshipping my Heaven Father that loves me and wants the best for me, by praising Him and getting to know Him better through His Word and prayer.

Here’s to investing in the eternal!

Title Lyrics: Your Love is Strong – Jon Foreman 

-LC

Leave a Reply

