You’re rich in love, and You’re slow to anger. Your name is great, and Your heart is kind. For all Your goodness, I will keep on singing. Ten thousand reasons for my heart to find.

Hi hey hello,

As some of you may know, Lent began on the 22nd of February. It is typically viewed as more of a Catholic thing to do. Most Catholics observe Lent from Ash Wednesday until Easter Sunday, but it has fallen out of culture for Evangelical Christians. Many evangelicals do not practice Lent anymore. For those of you who may not know what Lent is, it is 40 days of prayer and fasting leading up to Easter. Fasting, not just food, one can fast entertainment, internet usage, social networking, anything that gets in the way of one’s relationship with God.

This year, after some thought, I decided to participate in Lent. For 40 days I am giving up social networking, which means no Facebook or Twitter for 40 days. I am going to continue blogging throughout, but it may be less often, due to my time being spent doing other, more beneficial things. I can get so caught up in social networking, I have caught myself habitually trying to get on Facebook and Twitter on my phone over the past few days, so I deleted the apps off my phone, it has actually been a challenge to not get on it on my laptop. These are signs of an addiction, and that is very bad thing. I do not want to be addicted to technology as so many in my generation seem to be.

I want to take this time to refocus my life, to take things back to where they belong, to look to God as my strength and salvation, not other people. We can get so distracted with our fast-paced world racing around us, sometimes we really need to stop and be silent. Like truly silent, no noise at all. I don’t know that many people in my generation know how to do that anymore. We are so used to being stimulated all the time, that when that is taken away, we get jittery and don’t know what to do. I don’t want to be like that, I want to be addicted to my God, the one who truly deserves it.

Are you observing Lent? If so, what are you fasting from? Is not, why not?

Title Lyrics: 10,000 Reasons – Matt Redman 

-LC

PS. Friday favorite to come next week hopefully!

One thought on “You’re rich in love, and You’re slow to anger. Your name is great, and Your heart is kind. For all Your goodness, I will keep on singing. Ten thousand reasons for my heart to find.

Leave a Reply

