The forest sounds with cedars breaking. The waters see You and start their writhing. From the depths a song is rising. Now it’s rising from the ground. Holy, Holy Holy, Holy Lord. The earth is Yours and singing.

Hi hey hello,

Last night in youth we talked about something rather interesting. It is one of those things that is like “No duh, Liz” But sometimes we need those things to come up again in our lives because they are good reminders. There was something my youth pastor said last night that was like this. He said, “Either God is God or you are.” That may seem rather obvious to all you smart, epic people, but to me it was a nice reminder. I need to let go. God IS God, so therefore, I’m not. I’m not in control.

I am sort of a control freak, those that know me can vouch for that. I like to be the leader, I like to be in control, even if it means I do everything. I do not like having to rely on other people to do things I could do myself. This is a rather hard thing to have and still let God have control. I know at a mental level that God is God, and therefore knows everything, and wants what’s best all the time, but I am not sure that has hit my heart yet. I read in the Bible that it is true, Jeremiah 29:11, ” For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for wholeness and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” Luke 12: 27-28, “Consider the lilies, how they grow: they neither toil now spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass, which is alive in the field today , and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, how much more will he clothe you, O you of little faith!”

God’s got it. I feel like I have to remind myself of that everyday. Maybe one day I will understand it, I would rather have to trust God though, it pushes me outside of my comfort zone.

Title Lyrics: The Earth is Yours – Gungor

What are your thoughts on that saying, “Either God is God or you are.,” ?

-LC

Leave a Reply

