Take these feet. I know they stumble, but You use the weak. You use the humble. So, please use me. All I am is Your’s.

Hi hey hello,

One of my favorite worship artists is Phil Wickham, he is mildly wonderful and by mildly I mean extremely. I won’t go on a rant about how awesome he is, but suffice to say, if you haven’t heard of him, go check him out. Check his brother, Evan Wickham, out too while you’re at it. Anyway, one of his older songs, Divine Romance has been a favorite of mine for a long time. The lyrics go:

The fullness of Your grace is here with me
The richness of Your beauty’s all I see
The brightness of Your glory has arrived
In Your presence God, I’m completely satisfied
For You I sing I dance
Rejoice in this divine romance
Lift my heart and my hands
To show my love, to show my love
A deep deep flood, an Ocean flows from You
Of deep deep love, yeah it’s filling up the room
Your innocent blood, has washed my guilty life

I absolutely love the simplicity of this song. Divine romance. A romance with God. I was reading in a book called Captivating, which is sort of like the women’s version of Wild at Heart. One of the sections talk about how God knows exactly what we love the most. Basically, she writes that her husband had spent time with God and God sent him a powerful whale, exemplifying God’s love for us and his knowledge of what we truly enjoy and love. She writes that she wanted something like this. Though she felt I tad silly, she asked God for her whale, he gave her a starfish, but as she walked a little farther down this beach, there were hundreds of starfish, in an array of colors. Jesus romances us.

With a husband or wife, they have to learn what we love and what we want, God knows. He knew it before we were born. He knew that I would love the rain, the beach, and the mountains. That a mountain view could take my breath away. That the sunset is one of the single most beautiful things on the planet to me. He knew that. I didn’t have to tell Him or give Him subtle hints, He KNEW. It is so cool. This romance is scandalous. The God of the Universe romances me. He gives me these little gifts. He shows me little pieces of the earth that He knows I love. The sunset on the plane ride home from Panamá. He KNEW that was what I would love.

If you take anything away from this, take this. God loves us. He loves us with an all-encompassing, all-inclusive, personal, unfading, shocking, scandalous, forever kind of love. He romances us. He gives us little things in nature. He is CHASING you. God is pursuing YOU. Like in the parable of the lost sheep, He leaves the 99 for the ONE lost sheep.

I don’t know about you, but I want a God who loves me like that.

Thoughts?

Title Lyrics: All I Am – Phil Wickham 

-LC

Leave a Reply

