Friday Favorites!

Hi hey hello,

This week’s Friday Favorites! is going to be a little different. Generally, same idea, but the theme this week is some of my favorite Scriptures from the week. I’ve been in Isaiah and there is just so much in there that is just fantastic and completely wonderful for my life right now. So, I present Friday Favorites!

 

1. Isaiah 52:7 —

How beautiful upon the mountains
Are the feet of him who brings good news,
Who proclaims peace,
Who brings glad tidings of good things,
Who proclaims salvation,
Who says to Zion,
“Your God reigns!”

I love this verse because it is just such a beautiful picture of sharing that gospel. It reminds me of my recent mission trip to Panamá. Taking up to the mountains, the Gospel, the Good News. I know it isn’t quite the same picture, but I feel like this when I go to Wakulla to share the good news of salvation, peace, and that I get to proclaim to these kids that “Our God reigns!”

2. Isaiah 61:1 —

The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me,
    because the Lord has anointed me
to bring good news to the poor;
    he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
to proclaim liberty to the captives,
    and the opening of the prison to those who are bound

This scripture is so great first of all because this was the verse, well really this whole chapter, was prayed over my class more than once while I was at CCS. It was our class scripture and it truly was our mission while we were at CCS. I still want this to be my mission while I am at FSU, because I know there are people who need good news, who are brokenhearted, who are captive, and who are bound. I want this to be my life mission, to go forth in God’s spirit to serve the world.

3.Psalm 73:26 —

My flesh and my heart may fail

    but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

This scripture is actually used in the lyrics to one of my favorite worship songs. The words are just so true. My flesh and my heart may fail, and they will. My heart is deceitful and my flesh is weak, but God is my strength and portion FOREVER. My God will never fail me.

4. Ephesians 5:1-2

Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children; and walk in love, just as Christ also loved you and gave Himself up for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God as a fragrant aroma.

This verse has been close to my heart since probably 9th grade. It was what a few of my friends and I decided was going to be our verse for the week. We wanted to imitate God, and love people like that, so that people would see that through us, and just like all the rest, God is still using this verse in my life now, and it is still truth. Just like Josh talked about last week at youth, Jesus is the same, 50 years ago, today, and 500 years from now.

Have a great weekend!

-LC

Leave a Reply

