You say jump to arms wide open. I am scared, but I am willing. For blessed is the one, blessed is the one who trusts You.

Hi hey hello,

Last night was WUMC Bible Study, as always, but last night was slightly different. Last night, instead of the wonderful and talented Josh Hawkins teaching… silly old me taught. I know, crazy right? Why would someone who is a great teacher have me teach? That’s anyone’s guess, just kidding. It’s so cool to be able to have this opportunity to teach students at this level, even though I legitimately suck at this point, I will hopefully get better with time. I can definitely see myself teaching in the future. I love that so many parts of my life right now are sort of coinciding, it’s sort of like confirmation that this is where I am supposed to be right now. I love it!

Anyway, we are going through Acts and so tonight I taught on Acts 7. For those who don’t know, this is the chapter on Stephen’s stoning, “and not the good stoning,” in the words of Josh Hawkins. He gives an awesome speech about the history of Israel and he straight up calls out the Sanhedrin for what they have been doing. He tells them that they murdered Jesus, the savior, the Messiah. They are more than a little pissed off at this and decide to drag him out of the city and stone him. One of the last pieces of his speech he says,

 “You men who are stiff-necked and uncircumcised in heart and ears are always resisting the Holy Spirit; you are doing just as your fathers did.” Acts 7:51 

The key part there is, always resisting the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit is God down on earth that lives within those who have accepted Christ as their Lord and Savior, He tells us what we should and shouldn’t do, sort of like our conscience. The Holy Spirit is what pushes us to do things for Christ, to go talk to that person, or sit with someone, or invite someone to church. That is the Holy Spirit’s prompting. So, the question was asked, what is the Holy Spirit telling you to do? What are you going to do about it? One thing Josh really emphasized was making a plan to actually do it. It is so easy to say, “Oh, I’m gonna read my Bible more,” or “I’m gonna tell people about Jesus,” and then get out of it. It’s harder to get out of it when you set a specific time to do that thing.

So, each person went around telling what the Holy Spirit was prompting them to do and how they were going to do that. As they were talking, I began thinking about it, what is God telling me to do that I seem to be ignoring? And God revealed that there is a person in my Environmental Science class that I need to befriend and tell her about Christ. She is obviously hurting and I want to show Christ to her and I want to do that first by being her friend.

What is God telling you to do that you aren’t doing? What are you going to do about it?

Title Lyrics: Blessed is the One – Daniel Doss Band 

-LC

Leave a Reply

