Wait the light will come. Lift your eyes. The sun has overcome the night. Come alive, as we shine in loves true light.

Hi hey hello,

Happy Wednesday! I honestly really love Wednesdays, they mark the middle of the week, and in my book, if I can make it to Wednesday, I can make it through the week. It is also the day I get to go to Wakulla, which is seriously one of my favorite parts of my week, yeah, you Wakulla kids are my favorite! ūüėõ

Anyway, I was reading last night during my quiet time and I read some verses that really made me think. In I Timothy 4: 8-10 it says:

“for¬†bodily discipline is only of little profit, but¬†godliness is profitable for all things, since it¬†holds promise for the¬†present life and¬†also¬†for the¬†life¬†to come.¬†It is a trustworthy statement deserving full acceptance.¬†For it is for this we labor and strive, because we have fixed¬†our hope on¬†the living God, who is¬†the Savior of all men, especially of believers.”

I love this section of Scripture. Our society is so focused on everything that isn’t Godliness. I find myself focusing on things that, while not inherently bad, pull my attention away from where it should be, on my great Lord and Savior. I get distracted by homework, social media, bodily fitness, monetary means, and so many other things. These things take my attention and keep it off of what God is calling me to do. Is homework bad? No. Is it bad that I want to do it and do well on it? No. Is it bad that it takes up more of my time than spending time in the Word does? Yes. I cannot ever seem to focus on things with all these other things floating around in my head. I am always focused on the next due date or the next class. My schedule literally has more homework time set aside than anything else, maybe with the exception of sleep, on good days. Is it bad that homework consumes me and all my time? YES.

That is something I really need to get under control and that I really need to give to God, because it isn’t going to go away, I just need to learn how to handle better.

Any suggestions?

Title Lyrics: The Light Will Come РPhil Wickham 

-LC

2 thoughts on “Wait the light will come. Lift your eyes. The sun has overcome the night. Come alive, as we shine in loves true light.

  1. Bethany says:

    I like what you said. ūüėÄ What I’ve learned recently is that we can glorify God through homework. Cool! I think it’s important not to let social media, exercise, homework, sleep, or monetary means become idols in my life. But those things are part of life. It’s not bad to spend a lot of time with them as long as they’re not idols. God didn’t create us to read the Bible every second of our lives(which I’m sure you realize, but it’s nice to hear it). He called us to live a Godly life. Reading the Bible is definitely crucial and absolutely necessary, but I don’t think we as Christians should feel guilty for not reading it all day. Right now, part(not all) of my calling is to be a student and do my very best with what’s required of me. This means that doing homework is a part of my calling. Doing what God calls us to do starts now, even in school. Of course, just focusing everything on homework is not what God wants. ūüėÄ

    • elizabethcori says:

      Thanks so much! That is such a great insight, sometimes it is nice to get a reminder of that. Thanks for commenting! It means a lot! God bless you! I love you Bethany!

Leave a Reply

