And when before the throne I stand in Him complete, “Jesus died my soul to save” my lips shall still repeat. O Praise the one who paid my debt and raised this life up from the dead.

Hi hey hello,

Sorry it’s been so quiet around here for the past few weeks, but I really do want to get back into blogging.

Alright guys, I know I have said it about 4.3 million times, but I love being an intern at WUMC so much it just blows my mind. Yesterday I got to hang out with one of my youth girlies. First off, love spending time with them. Each and every one of them are a joy to spend time with and I love getting to pour into them, and many times I learn so much about my life from them, it is amazing! I love hearing what is going on in their lives and it really helps me see where I can pray for them and where I can invest more of my time and energy. Gosh I love these kids.

After we hung out, we went to youth and it was beyond amazing. I know this is also something I saw frequently, but it is still true. Josh Hawkins is a fantastic leader for these kids, I learn so much about mentoring these kids simply by watching his interactions with them. Anyway, he is also a pretty great teacher. Last night was so beautiful I cannot even put it into words. All I can say is that God showed up, in a powerful way. The main idea was that we need to not just make Jesus our Savior, but that He needs to be our KING. A king can do whatever he wants and that what Jesus needs to be in our lives. The night ended with the kids kneeling before the cross and lifting up the name of Jesus in a way that literally brought tears to my eyes. Seeing these kids, these crazy, silly, ridiculous middle and high school students worshipping God and kneeling at the foot of the cross making Jesus the King of their lives was  one of those moments that makes literally everything you do as a youth leader worth it. All those long drives, late nights, silly conversations and worries, all the crazy talks. It is ALL worth it when you get to see those same kids on their faces before God.

Title Lyrics: Jesus Paid It All – Kristian Stanfill

-LC

 

Leave a Reply

