Wait on the Lord

Wait on the LordIsaiah 40 verse 31 says,

But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

I read this verse this morning in my quiet time. This verse really stuck out to me for a number of reasons. First, because I absolutely love the line “they shall mount up with wings like eagles.” I love the imagery that provides.

I also love this verse because of the message it gives. It states that those who wait on the Lord will renew their strength. And yes, I have heard and read that a million times, but this time I really thought about it. Of course figuratively it means that when we wait on the Lord, He will give us strength to carry on. But also literally, when we stop and wait for the Lord’s direction, we are resting and renewing our strength. In our waiting on the guiding hand of the Lord, we are taking time to stop and rest.

It then goes on to say that those that wait on the Lord will also run and not be weary and walk and not faint. Of course, the figurative meaning is there, but LITERALLY, if we wait on the Lord and we rest in His timing, we will be renewed and be able to carry on when His call does come.

This is very difficult for me personally because I am a serious planner. I would plan out each and every day for the rest of my life if I was able to. I need to have a schedule and a plan for my day, if I don’t have any kind of schedule, it stresses me out. Thus, waiting on God, not doing endless planning or preparing, is really hard for me, but that it what God is teaching me in this time. God is teaching me to wait on Him. I am not sure in this season what God has for me, but I am excited and only by God’s grace will I be able to wait, but I am sure trying to wait on God, and in the mean time, to rest and trust His timing.

LC

Image Originally from: http://rebloggy.com/post/photography-vintage-indie-flowers-mountains-nature-retro-wild/62614657408
Leave a Reply

